Illinois Organizations Receive Awards for Environmental Achievements

[Post author: Wayne Duke]

Thirty eight Illinois companies and organizations have been honored for their significant achievements in protecting the environment, helping sustain the future, and improving the economy. The Governor’s Sustainability Awards were presented by the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) in Champaign during a luncheon. ISTC is a division of the Institute of Natural Resource Sustainability at the University of Illinois.

Since 1987, ISTC has presented Governors awards to organizations in Illinois that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental excellence through outstanding and innovative sustainability practices. Any Illinois public or private organization is eligible to apply for an award. Organizations who are winning for the first time receive the Sustainability Award. Those organizations that have won in past years and are continuing their environmental efforts are awarded a Continuous Improvement Award.

“These businesses and organizations have shown that it is possible to create and maintain conditions under which people and nature can exist in productive harmony, and fulfill the social and economic requirements of present and future generations,” said John C. Marlin, ISTC Acting Director.

The 2009 award winners are listed below. Information on the Governor’s Sustainability Awards program and technical assistance on pollution prevention and energy efficiency are available from the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center, One Hazelwood Drive, Champaign, IL 61820, phone 217-333-8940,

2009 Governor’s Sustainability Award winners

First time winners

Ace Hardware Paint Division—Chicago Heights

Ace Hardware Paint Division—Matteson

Allied Waste Services—Chicago

AMFOTEK—Tinley Park

Ball Corporation—Danville

Central Can Company—Chicago

ComEd—Oakbrook Terrace

GE Healthcare IT—Cary

Guardian West—Urbana

Jesse Brown VA Medical Center—Chicago

Jet Lithocolor, Inc.—Downers Grove

Kankakee Community College—Kankakee

Lions Park Elementary School—Mount Prospect

McDonald’s Corporation—Oak Brook

McHenry County Schools Environmental Education Program—Woodstock

MRC Polymers Inc.—Chicago

Mueller Company—Decatur

Original Smith Printing—Bloomington

Rhodia, Inc.—Blue Island

Vaughan and Bushnell Manufacturing Company—Bushnell

Village of Orland Park—Orland Park

WCIA Channel 3—Champaign

Organizations recognized for Continuous Improvement

Abbott—Abbott Park

Abbott—North Chicago

Ball Corporation—Elgin

Caterpillar Inc. Engine Center—Mossville


Department of Aviation O’Hare Modernization Program—Chicago

Consolidated Printing Company—Chicago

Continental Tire North America—Mount Vernon

Electro-Motive Diesel, Inc.—LaGrange

Frigel North America—East Dundee

Harris Corporation – Broadcast Communications Division—Quincy

Hitachi Metals Automotive Components USA, LLC—Effingham

Illinois Correctional Industries—Menard

Navistar, Inc—Melrose Park

NOW Foods, Inc.—Bloomingdale

PortionPac Chemical Corporation—Chicago

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.